Speak in big crayons to me~

I understand that medical terminology is big words with fancy explanations. They are expensive words, doctors pay a lot of money to be able to toss them around with importance…

But sometimes I want to hand them poster board and the big fat crayons and say “draw me a picture.” Make this understandable for someone like me! Where is this rant coming from? My newest diagnosis! 

I couldn’t remember the exact words and had been trying to research this new diagnosis, but could come up with the right search words. So today I emailed my doctor and here is what I have “Autonomic Nervous System Disease.” 

“Autonomic Nervous System Disease.”  Sounds easy enough to search right? Wrong! Now my question is Which type of ANS do I have? 

According to what I have found there are several types and not a type that is these specific word combinations! What the heck? 

The test we did that showed I have this “disease” was a blood pressure monitor, laying, sitting, standing etc. A new test to the clinic, actually to the whole state. 

Here is a link about Autonomic Nervous System stuff…

http://www.healthline.com/health/autonomic-dysfunction?utm_expid=.bq4wAkkBSjeddGcB8ufP1w.0&utm_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F
And I do have everyone of the symptoms listed so I must be in the right place…

“dizziness and fainting upon standing up, or orthostatic hypotension

an inability to alter heart rate with exercise, or exercise intolerance

sweating abnormalities, which could alternate between sweating too much and not sweating enough

digestive difficulties, such as a loss of appetite, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, or difficulty swallowing

urinary problems, such as difficulty starting urination, incontinence, and incomplete emptying of the bladder

sexual problems in men, such as difficulty with ejaculation or maintaining an erection

sexual problems in women, such as vaginal dryness or difficulty having an orgasm

vision problems, such as blurry vision or an inability of the pupils to react to light quickly”

But after that I am at a loss! 

Does anyone know if there is just a “Autonomic Nervous System Disease” without the other labels? 

Seriously doc. Speak in big crayons to me!!! Because I am confused!!! 

Leave a Reply

